\ Housing Authority of the County of Santa Clara | Agency
Home: Agency


The Housing Authority of the County of Santa Clara (HACSC) was established in 1967 by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors to locally administer federal rent subsidy programs authorized under the United States Housing Act of 1937.  Since 1976 HACSC has administered such programs for both the County of Santa Clara and the City of San Jose (which geographically lies entirely within Santa Clara County).  HACSC currently assists over 16,000 households.  For an overview of the programs currently administered, please go to Programs.

Mission and Goals:
HACSC’s mission is to provide and inspire affordable housing solutions to enable low-income people in Santa Clara County to achieve financial stability and self-reliance.

HACSC’s Policy Goals:

  • 1). Provide and promote affordable housing;
  • 2). Ensure the agency’s financial strength; and
  • 3). Promote tenants’ financial stability and self-reliance.

Administration and Oversight
Day-to-day operation of the Housing Authority is carried out by approximately 200 dedicated employees working under the guidance of several department directors and led by the executive director and deputy executive directors.  Current departments and directors are as follows:

Executive Director: Alex Sanchez
Deputy Executive Director & General Counsel: Katherine Harasz
Director of Finance: Bakulesh Patel
Director of Housing Programs: Aleli Sangalang
Director of Real Estate Services: Vanessa Cooper

The Housing Authority's general operation is overseen by the Board of Commissioners, the members of which are appointed by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. The Board of Commissioners consists of seven commissioners, one from each of the five supervisorial districts and two tenants of the Housing Authority, one being a senior citizen.  Each member is appointed for a four-year term except the resident commissioners, who are appointed for two-year terms.  The current members of the Board of Commissioners are as follows:

Kathy Espinoza-Howard, Chair
Bill Anderson, Vice Chair
Adrienne Lawton
Denis O'Neal
Bena Chang
Verna Hayden, Resident Commissioner

Board Meetings

The Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of every month.

Please click below to see the schedule for the 2014 Board Meetings:
BOC Meeting Schedule

NEW: Click Here for Board of Commissioners - Agendas and Supporting Documents (2014 and newer), Minutes, and Audio (live audio feed during board meetings)

If you are unable to attend the meeting and would like to make a comment to the Board, please send an email to Board@HACSC.org

Please Note: All Board Meetings Start at 9:30 AM unless specified otherwise

Click Here to view archived Board Packets (2013 and older)


back to top